Dark Shadows

On Waking Dreams

Jk Mansi
The Junction
1 min readNov 18, 2018

--

Dark Shadows: On Waking Dreams. Text by JkM. Image on Unsplash

The silver moon is shining
streams flow through the woods
from every branch of every tree
she hears the birds’ cacophony
from the bush murmurs a voice
soft as a sigh of grief
the winds blow through the trees
as though saying Oh my beloved,
Goodbye.

The pool reflects shadows
like a mirror nearby,
there the wind weeps
as it sweeps the leaves
away from the trees.
Everyone says this is the place
to dream of the starry sky.

A great and frightful
soulful silence seems to
come down upon the ground
from the heavens above
like an empty wish
a faithless hope
it is come, the hour of
hopeless dreams.

Roy, I am tagging you in all my nightmare submissions from today because reading your nightmare made me go looking for these. You’re welcome.

--

--

Jk Mansi
The Junction

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.