Deaths and Departures

Seena Ann Sabu
The Junction
Published in
1 min readMay 3, 2020
Image source: Soul by Bente Shlick

I was standing right across
where a car crashed into a massive tree,
When I realized… destruction
can be beautiful too.

It was right at the moment,
when I saw him lying on the street
Registering his broken bones
and bleeding muscles,
Accompanied by the stretch of agonizing ear piercing silence
that lingered amidst the chaos,
When I understood
The kind of beauty in loss,
The depths of serenity in death.

You may call me a madwoman,
Painting beautiful landscapes out of destruction
Talking lovingly of departures and death
But you see…you weren’t there
When the shards of glass
Sticking out of his body, still dripping red
stopped hurting anymore

When the melancholy of ‘the end’
was replaced with peace
When he saw everything and Nothing
When he felt everything and Nothing
All at once.
You weren’t there.

But I wish to be... someday,
Someplace where broken words piercing my skin would stop bothering too
When the hands wrapping around my throat in guise of an embrace,
Would stop making it difficult to breathe and just easy, not to.
When life would stop feeling like a dozen bricks to the side

Seeing everything…and nothing.
Feeling everything…and nothing.
All at once.
I want to be there.

Don’t you?

--

--

Seena Ann Sabu
The Junction

A self proclaimed extrovert; living life one poem at a time.