Don’t Ask

A Maguire
The Junction
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2017

Don’t ask me to believe in you…

I did once and the lies still

linger in my dreams; a nest

of snakes in a smothering shroud

until light and sound vanish.

Don’t ask me to me to trust you…

those foundations lie in shattered piles;

an impossible puzzle missing too many

pieces to put back together and the

picture gone forever.

Don’t ask me for compassion…

your cuts and barbs go too deep; the

effort of staunching the wounds has left

no reason to keep going, the scars

that remain have no feeling.

Don’t ask for affection or care…

those feelings burned and died; there is

only the taste of ash in my heart because it was

too hard,

too much,

too needful.

Don’t ask for understanding…

I understand all too well the way it

worked; every vow was broken

and every thought and feeling

withdrawn behind an impenetrable, unbreachable wall.

Please.

Just.

Don’t.

Ask.

--

--

A Maguire
The Junction

Writer, dreamer, developmental editor, book coach, farmer and mother.