Escape

Vishnu Deepak
The Junction
Published in
1 min readMar 9, 2020
Photo by Bryson Hammer on Unsplash

Eternal damnation is no pretty thing,
Tortured in hell for sins long forgotten,
Had I been human once?
In shape and form, indeed I believe I had been.
But inside had dwelt deadly demon kin.

The hellfire had razed my humanity away,
As pain became routine and my sanity went astray.
Time became meaningless, as did my existence,
With no hunger, no thirst, no sleep, no rest,
Shrouded in a crimson cape of suffering was I.

Yet the longer I spent there,
The more at peace I had felt,
A sense of belonging deep within me developed.
I had found my place in this realm now forever.
Or so I thought till I was suddenly ablaze no more.

A gaping hole opened up in the ceiling,
And a golden beam of light shone through,
I shattered my restraints and ran towards it,
Crawling and scraping through blood and bone.

I’d been burning so long that I struggled to remember,
What it had felt like to be free of the flaming chains.

To my skin, now scorched and blackened,
The kiss of freedom was a strange offering.

--

--