For Rose

Or, Only The Pineapple*

Zarina Dara ๐Ÿฅ€๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿป
The Junction

--

Image: Zarina Braybrooke

The eyes of a child,
wide open and wanting.

The name of a flower
from an old English garden;

but a woman of this land,
too long
exiled from home.

You stop me for a moment,
my face so familiar โ€”
and pockets full of cash,
thatโ€™s what you remember.

Another story,
seen your daughter
in the country
been better, been worse,
(you know how it is)

and you say,

โ€œHey, wonโ€™t you spare me a dollar?
A little something to help me get through.โ€

So I offer up a crumpled blue tongue,
but you say,
โ€œWhy not make it two?

โ€œโ€™Cos some days are hot, and
some days are cold;
thereโ€™s freedom in the wandering,
but no place to grow old.

โ€œYou know how it is โ€”
been better, been worse.

--

--

Zarina Dara ๐Ÿฅ€๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿป
The Junction

sneaking poetry into the corners of the day, and telling stories to myself in grasp of sanity.