Galileo Manifique

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
1 min readSep 26, 2018
“red milky way” by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

I always want reassurance

Doling it out to others comes easy to me

Especially when I empathize with their struggles

And find myself above ground

Breathing in oxygen

Knowing that there is always another way

That it’s okay to choose me

I write these words in the dark

Yet my own progress cannot act as a candlelight

All around me I hear the sweet sounds of scribbles

Meaning making from experiences I’ll never have

Heroes and heroines who stare into oblivion with me

Carving out caricatures wherein I find myself

I want to tell them I love them

That they save me every day

But I’m afraid of the person I am

He only cares about how others see him

And does not dare open his eyes

Everything is about him

Even when he allows a little light from the outside to enter

He wishes he could blind himself

Self-obsession is a full-time job with seldom rewards

Yet he clings on

All around him the universe spins while he stands still

He believes he is the centre

Not realizing he’s a neutron

Ready to be thrust in

Or cast out

--

--