I Need a Vacuum

A poem about having too much stuff and wanting more

Roger Blonder
The Junction
1 min readJul 28, 2020

--

Photo by ÉMILE SÉGUIN 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

There is so much clutter here
I don’t need a vacuum cleaner
I need a vacuum
To call my home
But then I would be lonely
So I would buy a nice plant
and need a watering can
and plumbing
and a towel to dry my hands
and a cabinet to store the towel
I don’t like these knobs on this cabinet
I need new knobs
I need a trash can to throw away the plastic packaging from the knobs
and the receipt
well, a recycling bin for the receipt
I’m hungry
I’d like some cookies
The floor is cold
I need a rug
These cookies make too many crumbs
I need a vacuum cleaner

--

--

Roger Blonder
The Junction

I work to be a Wisdom Tree / To drink the light and mind the birds / My roots run deep / Connect / Come reap / The harvest of my words.