I watched all of “Entourage” in a weekend and my brain is mush

Justin Borak
The Junction
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2021
Photo by Vincentas Liskauskas on Unsplash

By Justin Borak

Follow shot. Turtle with an obscene amount of posters for the hot new film, Head On, rushes into great his buddies at a diner with a plethora of hot people…you know, the normal diner scene. He brings in a poster for his best friend and star of Head On, Vincent Chase, flanked by his half-brother and mediocre actor, Johnny Drama, and his fellow best friend and under-the-table manager.

This ragtag group of horny douchebags you’d catch rushing a frat in a Seth Rogen film run Hollywood and make the L.A. look like the best place in the world. When I started watching it, I didn’t know how deep I’d get. I wanted to watch something that could help me imagine myself having clout, and it did that for a bit but then it happened.

Turtle made a joke about a buff girl being a man, Johnny made a slam about how if girls ask a guy out it makes the dude a pussy, Ari and Eric have a conversation over video chat normalizing underage sex. And I felt it, my brain slowly breaking down.

A show like Entourage doesn’t work in the current day and age (just look at their numbers for their god-awful 2015 cinematic classic) and it shouldn’t have worked in the early 2000s but we are getting to the end of quarantine and I’m running out of things on HBOMAX. The show, while wildly offensive, does have some moments of true pain that present humans under the masks of the terrible Hollywood elite we have been growing accustomed to. But, when those seldom moments are sandwiched between a sex scene and a B-Plot of a Turtle trying to get the best weed in LA so he can get laid…they become less impactful somehow.

My recommendation? Maybe watch something else until they reboot it with a little less blatant sexism and homophobia. But I know what you are wondering, “Justin, what can I watch better than all of Entourage”. So, I’ve included a link to an even better show that is just as long and incredibly appealing when put next to anything involving Johnny Drama, enjoy.

--

--

Justin Borak
The Junction

Comedy Writer based in Chicago. Writing for Flexx, The Junction, Word Brothel, Extra Newsfeed, and more! Human person.