I’m Really Really Real

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
1 min readAug 22, 2018
Photo by Ida Kammerloch on Unsplash

Well…Here I am

There you are

Yet this moment isn’t real, won’t be

Real until I’m captured

By the click of your camera, light

Shining in my eyes for an instant, and the moment

Forever encapsulated and belonging to you

All of you, to consume

The red blink has come to represent the real world

Reality spills forth from our phones and thumbs

Scrolling down a timeline to determine chronology

That time I lied about how much fun I had at beach, lying

About how fun the road trip was

As my butt numbed from excess hours in my seat

Let’s not forget my alone time, that I spent with you

Because that, that is real

I’m not taking the high road

Else why would I seek validation

For rearranging words that are familiar to you

You don’t need to be there

But your presence drives me to duplicate more

So we can stew shared in our shared weakness

Our shared humanity

--

--