In a manner of speaking

Alya
The Junction
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2018
Drinking Buddies 2013

I needed to meet you at this particular time, at this particular place when I least saw it coming. Nothing said we would be friends, nothing said we would be anything.

I was taken by the way you got into me without prior notice or time to adjust. You were just here and there, forcing me to eat the octopus, putting it into my mouth, buying me this bizarre drink which I turned out to love.

We didn’t plan on living all those sweet memories that I’ll forever cherish. Your speedy, crazy rides, your silly jokes and how your laughter made everything so light. All the little yellow notes you left me everywhere with your sweet words on them. How you’d always want to walk me home.

You slipped so subtly, my friend!

You moved something in me that day when you remembered me during this really crowded brunch, insisting that I’d come and eat your fries and stay till the end, the way you’d look at me from across the room.

We made everyone speculate though all we really did was look at the sky and make shapes out of clouds.

We didn’t dwell much on what were we, we were just us. We knew right from the very beginning that we are not lovers, though perhaps we were more than buddies.

I needed to meet you so I could write this piece, about you, and how you made US a thing, in a manner of speaking we were a thing, a beautiful fit. I needed to meet you so I could have a warm place in mind to go to when coldness pays a visit.

Music

--

--