In Case “My Finale: Part 2” is the First Episode of Scrubs You Ever See

A List of Things to Keep In Mind

James Ardis Writing
The Junction
3 min readJul 11, 2017

--

1. You Don’t Have to Apologize
It is okay to be here in this moment and to enjoy it. You may feel out of place witnessing Zach Braff’s zest for life and his farewells to characters you are supposed to recognize. Embrace being out of place. Zach Braff requested your presence and you have unselfishly stepped up to the plate.

Personal Note: I first watched Scrubs in a dorm room during winter break. My dorm-mate had every season on DVD. I had to keep the volume down because I was not legally allowed to stay in my dorm room over winter break.

2. Relationships Are Difficult
Within minutes of watching “My Finale: Part 2,” it should be pretty clear that Zach Braff demands a very precise amount of homoerotic behavior from his same-sex friends. Some people in the hospital will ask for less homoerotic behavior than Braff requires and others will ask for more homoerotic behavior than Braff is comfortable with. This difficult balance serves as the core tension of Scrubs.

Personal Note: I was hiding in my dorm room in the winter with a complete set of Scrubs on DVD because I was kicked out of my childhood home. I was kicked out because I called my mom’s boyfriend’s parental figure a “Republican douchebag.” I regret calling my mom’s boyfriend’s parental figure a “Republican douchebag” and I cannot forgive myself. Please take care of each other out there.

3. Life is Long
The creators of Scrubs had no idea how long their show would last so they prepared series finales for the end of seasons one, seven, eight, and nine, respectively. “My Finale: Part 2” is Scrubs’s third and most beautiful death scare.

The writers were unsure whether or not they would be able to bring back Zach Braff for a possible ninth season, so they decided to wrap up his story arc by unveiling a projector screen and playing scenes from the rest of his life right in front of him. Zach Braff would eventually come back for a part-time gig on Scrub’s depressingly substandard final season.

Life is long and we have many opportunities to anticipate our demise before it actually comes.

Personal Note: It has been several years since I called my mom’s boyfriend’s parental figure a “Republican douchebag.” Since then, I have managed to make many more mistakes. I stopped considering myself a good person eighteen months ago.

--

--

James Ardis Writing
The Junction

Creator and champion of great writing. Copywriting | SEO | Content Strategy