In My Room…

a children’s verse translation

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
The Junction
2 min readMar 27, 2018

--

a poem by Ágnes Nemes Nagy, translated by Joe Váradi

The table

In my room there stands a table,
draped in fabrics golden sable.
He is just, and he is fair,
Always with a gracious air.
Glad to be your dinner host,
or your homework writing post.
Build a bridge and down below
his mighty waters ebb and flow.
Race your cars on curvy tracks,
mind the grooves, mind the cracks.
Calm as he is, it's only the sight
of wood chippers that give him a fright.

The chair

In my room there sits a chair,
kind of shabby, over there.
Ancient backrest, arms are sagging,
reupholstery much lagging.
In my younger days, it’s true
I bounced on her, if no one knew,
rode her armrest like a horse,
I was naughty then, of course.
Now I feel bad when she moans,
creaks and squeaks and squeals and groans —
Like a mama bear in chain,
crying for her cubs in vain.

The original, by Hungarian poet Ágnes Nemes Nagy (Pip Bio|Wiki Bio), herself a translator of French, German and English:

Mi van a szobában?

Az asztal

A szobában van az asztal,
leterítve szép damaszttal.
Ő a kedves, ő a jó,
ő mindenre kapható.
Lehet rajta inni, enni,
leckeírás neki semmi,
építek rá hidakat:
ő a víz a híd alatt.
Autó járja? Vígan állja,
ő a pálya, ő a pálya.
Egy baj van csak: bármi kedves,
lombfűrésztől ideges lesz.

A szék

A szobában van a szék.
Nem mondom, hogy csodaszép.
Vén a támla, lóg a karfa,
mintha volna gyönge mancsa.
Az igaz, míg kicsi voltam,
ha nem látták, ráugortam,
a karfáján lovagoltam,
de akkor még buta voltam.
Most sajnálom, ha morog,
nyikorog és nyiszorog –
Olyan, mint egy barnamedve,
főleg este, főleg este.

Dedicated to my friend Katalin Abrudan.

Thanks for your attention, you’ll find more of my translations below:

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
The Junction

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"