In the Rhythm of Rugby

Marta Mozolewska
The Junction
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2019
Photo by Quino Al via unsplash

How do you like to spend Saturdays? I too often spend them with my kids, and we practise sports usually. Yeah, right.

Tired of ironing, dusting, hovering, I’m crossing the living room where my two children (Carol 12, Timmy 7) are lying on the couch watching TV and eating chocolate. I’m heading to the kitchen to wash up. Just another Saturday. Suddenly I stumble over something. I look down and what do I see? My daughter’s bracelet! I can feel my blood pressure rocket to the blue skies above. Yesterday I saw it on the table in the kitchen and asked her politely to take it to her room and here it is again! On the floor! Infuriated I pick it up and hiss at Carol that, fine, if she doesn’t need the bracelet, I’ll simply throw it away to the litter bin. Accelerating my pace in a theatrical manner I’m striding in the direction mentioned.

All of a sudden, the course of events takes an unexpectedly dramatic turn. As if on command both kids stop smacking and toss the chocolate wherever, Carol throws herself after me spurring me to run, Timmy jumps to his feet and, reddened in the face, his hands up high in the air, shifting his body weight from one leg to the other, screams as loud as possible,

“RUN, MOTHER, RUN! FASTER! FASTER!”

Next he dashes round the table and, when I’m just about to enter the kitchen, he pops up on my right, shouting even louder,

“OR PASS IT TO ME! QUICK! I’LL CATCH IT AND CHUCK IT OUT THROUGH THE WINDOW!”

What do I do?

I collapse on the floor and roll on it with laughter, losing the bracelet to the opponent team player.

If you liked the piece, you may also enjoy the following:

--

--