It’s Okay

My wife doesn’t have cancer

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
1 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

Source: Pixabay

I got a text
In the middle of the morning
From my wife
On her way in to work and

It’s Okay
My wife doesn’t have cancer.

Her mother died from it and
Her grandmother and
Her grand-aunt so
It’s in the female genes like
A dried firecracker waiting to explode but

It’s Okay
My wife doesn’t have cancer.

The abdominal pain
Since before the new year even
After changes in diet and
Being careful so careful while
Worrying over little things but now

It’s Okay
My wife doesn’t have cancer.

Maybe gall bladder problems like
Her father had and
Her brother so
We’re looking at an ultrasound
Next week
But this week

It’s Okay
My wife doesn’t have cancer.

So many people are survivors
So many people fought through
So many people with body parts cut out
So many brave stories I could listen to
But

It’s Okay
My wife doesn’t have cancer

This time.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.