La Cosa Nostra.

Efe Nakpodia
The Junction
Published in
1 min readAug 3, 2021
reddit

Broken promises scrape the pavement
on the walk home from our night out.
I didn’t mean to let them fall;
they just slipped through my fingers,
and she happened, to pick up the pieces.

I never meant to look in her eyes;
I know you saw the kisses.
I know you felt us melt away
like candle wax in dark places.

Haven’t seen your dimples in a while;
I didn’t mean to cramp their style.
I didn’t mean to numb your smile.
I mean… I meant to love you more.

Last week, I saw the chasm you slid
between your feelings and the way you look at me.
Darkness beamed off the streetlights,
and your love poised to run for the hills.
One foot in, the other hung off a cliff’s edge...
and in that moment, I knew we’d lost
this thing of ours. I knew we’d gone way too far
down the rabbit hole, and we had come

to the dreaded end of this long, winding road.

--

--

Efe Nakpodia
The Junction

—i am an imagist • iDream • outLOUD • my fourth book of poetry titled “iFELL in LOVE; i’m SORRY” is now available on Amazon:) xoxo