Own Photo

La Luz in Every Phase

Olivia Delgado
The Junction

--

“Don’t fall too loudly, you’ll wake the others.”

There’s an air about this room, a quiver in this place. Ten years from then to here, I’m lying asleep drowning awake.

Fortune Telling Roads & Branded Regions:

It swayed, fading into the gloom of dusk.

White marbled origami clouds, cherry mixed.

Pastoral tints burning edges into the thumbprint landscape through passing windows.

Evening creases draped in coastal plains, smudging hushed roads, beneath angel sky.

A woman once read my palm and I suppose if I look closely everything revisited leads back to light.

The Drive-In

The sun preached that evening. Fables tea stained and ironed in evergreen calligraphy.

Cyclical to be in the house where we were once held and comforted as kids. Twenty five years later I’m rocking my three month old nephew in the very same home. Somehow we’re always pulled back.

The local drive-in closed years ago. We went two times in the 90's. I remember the four of us sitting on the front of the car, backs leaning against the windshield. Young girls enveloped by the resplendent avalanche of celestial sparks glowing above. The screen spread wide in front of us lying atop a dried lot. Pebbled dirt and lunar landings commingling on our skin. We already knew too much. Knew the feeling of both love and struggle. In spite of it we held hope in our eyes like song sparrows skimming water, caught butterfly wingbeats at the backs of our throats, and spoke wishes to the hovering flakes of twirling salt departing from land. I couldn’t resist going back to that night. The same girls then- different now. So much faith we had.

Heavy Feet

It’s occurred to me that never before has holding on and moving forward seemed to mean so much. There are bridges I am crossing that don’t exist on a map and I’m still stuck daydreaming about what the earth feels like past the state line.

Life here

Is gold

Drives

Where

I could cup

The tops of

Tree yards.

Prairie dried

Stretches

Heating highway.

Doubt-

You stole

Me,

But I will

Always be more

Brush country

And

Vacant road.

More giving

Than running away.

More falling apart

Than together.

More quiet

Than loud.

Needing both to

Move and stay.

--

--

Olivia Delgado
The Junction

Portrait of a 90’s Girl 🥀 Narratives & Nostalgia