Lavender Skies

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
Nov 24, 2020
Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

I’ve been seeing a lot of lavender lately
The little purple flowers
Laying on images
Passing through visions
Populating dreams
of a rich couple on a farm
40 acres extending as far as the eye can see
And music never heard before
Breezing through the background

I want to attach meaning to what I see and hear
Surely all of this bending of time and space
Has something to it
A quest perhaps buried in my subconscious
or spoken to me by an inebriated poet
As I scramble to make sense of his prophecies

It’s a bad song
Just like yesterday
As I lay on a rug
Between bouts of wisdom
And pain

But maybe first drafts are always meant to be bad
Have to work out the kinks
Recalibrate the code
Mix the reds and the blues

--

--