Little Black Girl

An Audio Poem

Tre L. Loadholt
The Junction
1 min readApr 6, 2019

--

Muhammadtaha Ibrahim|Unsplash

Little Black Girl, you have lost your way.
Society does not see you,
It has no place for you to call home.
No triumph will come under its gaze,
You will have to create a home of your own.
But, where can you go, Little Black Girl?
Who will take you?
Who will keep you safe?

I have prayed for your heart.
I am praying for your mind.
On my knees, I live in continuous prayer for you.
I know what you will become
If someone does not take your wings
And clip them to perfection.
Flight is inevitable.
You will need them when it’s
Time to fly.

Little Black Girl,
Listen to your elders.
They know that strength
Is a necessity on dark days.
Let them be your light.
Allow them space in your heart
For daily affirmations and advice.

Trust me, you will need it.

Copyright© Tremaine L. Loadholt, 2019. All Rights Reserved

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
The Junction

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com