Lockedinatightembrace

a verse translation

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
The Junction

--

The poem “Összekapaszkodva” by A. Túri Zsuzsa, translated by Joe Váradi.

Hungarian is an agglutinative language, kinda like German on steroids, and the stacking of suffix on top of suffix yields some gracefully elongated words. I wanted to reflect this in the translated title, which agglutinates six syllables, and embodies two back-to-back dactyls, just like every line of the poem.

Lockedinatightembrace

There’s someone following
My journey all the way,
With every step her hands
Rest on my shoulder blade,
There was a time when I
Knew her, and loved her so,
It seems I asked her to
Not ever let me go,
But the road grew rugged,
Longer than I once thought,
I’m not the foolhardy
Youngster that I once was,
My heart lies shuttered, and
Yet she has stuck by me,
I cannot muster words
To compel her to leave.

Who knows why she’s still here,
Who knows why she won’t part,
If by chance I find a
New path back to her heart,
I would ask her, perhaps,
Wherefore her faith in me?
If I must take my leave,
Why won’t she let me be?

Lockedinatightembrace
We proceed on our way,
This, I know, shall remain:
Hands on my shoulder blade,
Speechless, I hope I can
Cut through the apathy,

Stop, turn to you, and give
Gratitude, finally.

also from A. Túri Zsuzsa

the original

Összekapaszkodva

Valaki régóta követ
Az utamon,
Lépésről lépésre,
Keze a vállamon,
Valaha ismertem,
Valaha szerettem,
Úgy rémlik, kértem is,
Maradjon mellettem,
De az út rögös lett,
Hosszabb, mint gondoltam,
Én sem vagyok már oly
Vakmerő, mint voltam,
Bezárult a szívem,
De ő csak jön velem,
Szólnék, de nem tudok,
Küldeni nem merem.

Ki tudja mért van itt,
Ki tudja, mit vár még,
Ha szívéhez egyszer
Új utat találnék,
Megkérdezném talán,
Miért hisz még bennem?
Miért nem enged el,
Hogyha el kell mennem?

Összekapaszkodva
Lépkedünk és tudom,
Sokáig így lesz még:
Keze a vállamon,
Szótlanul s remélve
Hogy túl a közönyön,

Megállok majd egyszer,
S mindezt megköszönöm.

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
The Junction

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"