Photo by Zac Ong on Unsplash

Lonely Hearts (a found poem)

Jessica
2 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

I. Wanted, Single F: Under 33

We were exchanging glances on a Brooklyn-bound F train

(late Friday night, March 23.)

You didn’t look happy, neither did I

I try as hard as I can not to

look at you, but I can’t help myself.

We locked eyes but I looked away twice

I never got your name,

Your voice, it sounded kind

I just wish you felt the same way

I hope that you like me

(I hope that you like me.)

II. Mrs. Destiny, or: Reply to Single M

My name is Caroline

Cell phone number here

Call if you have the time

28 and bored

Grieving over loss

Sorry to be heavy,

but heavy is the cost

(Heavy is the cost)

I was getting up the nerve to say something to you

but then you had to leave.

I remembered you and your name

You saw me at where I live,

caught me in a bad day.

You were carrying something,

hope all is okay.

(Hope all is okay.)

III. Sunday Mornings R 4 Dreamers (W4M – Only in my Dreams, New York)

How will I know

If this strange enigma will continue?

Will you send me a signal?

What more can I do?

I’ve reached a comfortable plateau

I don’t want to think about it anymore

Still hope to meet you there…somewhere.

IV. A Dare (W4M – New York, New York)

Face it: I am the most adorable creature you have ever been in contact with and you would be crazy not to turn your life upside down and marry me.

Maybe this is not just because you are lonely; have you considered that maybe it is me?

Is it you or me?

Is it you or me?

V. To the Girls of Hunter College

You gorgeous ladies break my heart.

Taken from actual selections from the former Missed Connections board on Craigslist, as well as lyrics from the song 'Personal (Caroline)' by Stars.

--

--