Night Parade

K. ZHENG ⬗
The Junction
Published in
1 min readOct 28, 2019
Photo by Alexander Sinn on Unsplash

Take me far away to when the skies were blue.

Convince me that apples still thunder the earth with red hooves,

Say my happily-ever-afters, say devastation and two fools.

i

The weight of you on my shoulders

the silver of your whisper close to my ears,

Your sound is an intense sound of direction

guiding my hand through unaging wounds,

places that did not know they were hurt.

My friends told me you were dangerous

but I sought the desire of holding you

i

Death’s innocent terrain;

Your beautiful scales took flight

climbing every thorny wretch of my neck

and wrapped around me like a rope.

I remember racing up hills and slopes,

I remember rejoicing in my spine,

I remember tears skidding down my legs

I remember reading sermons of pain.

i

With a few flowers cut from my throat,

I potted myself nicely on a red table,

musing the slow rhythm & arc of sowing.

Across this luminous expressway,

I saw nothing in perfect detail.

i

Depression and liquor loneliness,

Is this where I go when my soul burns?

--

--