Okie and the KKK

Chris Drew
The Junction
Published in
7 min readJun 2, 2019

--

Photo by Blake Meyer on Unsplash

I got down on my stomach and looked inside the basement window. “Toodles,” I called out. I thought she might have somehow found her way into the abandoned house two blocks away from mine. Two brown eyes stared back at me, but they weren’t hers.

“Toodles back,” he said.

“I’m looking for my dog. Have you seen her? What are you doing in there anyway? This house has had a for sale sign in the yard for six months. Did your folks buy it or something?”

“Shhh. Go around to the backyard and be quiet about it. I’ll meet you there.”

I got up, dusted myself off, and opened the gate that led to the back of the house. All the houses were built the same where I lived. Grandpa explained it as the building boom after the war.

He opened the kitchen door and came outside. “Sorry. I ain’t seen your dog.”

“How do you know? I didn’t even describe her to you.”

“Because it’s just me and Gramps. We’re just passing through and needed a place to rest up.”

“Wanna help me look for her? My name’s Sally. Just like the actress who plays Gidget. That’s how I named my dog. I just love Gidget. What’s yours?”

“My what?”

“Your name, silly.”

--

--

Chris Drew
The Junction

I use the Olympic Rain Forest, the Cascade mountain range, and the Puget Sound as inspiration to write about causes, with a bent towards magical realism.