Photo by Andrew Neel from Pexels

Peace to the dead

Lupin, like the chair
The Junction
Published in
2 min readAug 17, 2021

--

Your keys are still on the tabletop,
Still reminiscing on that night you talked about the glottal stop,
You shared your thoughts on poetry from the middle east,
And how words hold meaning beneath and beyond the clout,
How descriptive it can be to pay homage with a few words at least,
And infringe purpose with more to please,
The tonal changes, the advanced lexicon,
My mind was blown hereupon which therein I dwell on,

I still see you in my dreams, conversing about the mundane,
Cheese, chocolate, and Bruce Wayne,
How we disdained from joking about the inhumane and mentally insane,
How you taught me to restrain from spending,
From being a bane to those I am lending,
To understand that dearth from birth is a hardship,
How to save every penny I could and take everything for what it is worth,
To obtain more with my brain,
To be a force of change,
How to never cave in to your fears,
And you made it clear,
The cheers of life come with tears.

I miss you, you’re my best friend,
An ally, comrade, a brother ‘til the end,
I miss you, with every tear I shed,
About that night I dread,
On my knees I look down,
Palm open…
In pieces…peace to the dead.

--

--

Lupin, like the chair
The Junction

I write about what matters and nothing of any significance