Possession

A spooky villanelle based on the fear of anticipation

Shalini C
The Junction
Oct 23, 2020

--

Photo by Melanie Wasser on Unsplash

I brace to meet you in the corners of my eye
Knowing as a wall to cobwebs dangling clandestine
in lapping swells of fear frothed on lips dry

I swallow courage, wine-bloodied with illusions belied
by breaths brittled ‘midst howls of hollow winds
I brace to meet you in the corners of my eye

Blue phantoms flit in sleight of flickers sly
wafting through mists of a mind wearied muslin-thin
in lapping swells of fear frothed on lips dry

I wash my fears in His pristine-white lies
dilly-dallying in divinity to atone my past sins
as I brace to meet you in the corners of my eye

I plunge into your caressing clutch in muffled cries
My fibrilled being seeps an eclipse erupting
in lapping swells of fear frothed on lips dry

Come morn, my certain sun has dimmed and died
Embers of ennui blanching the rouge of skin
I had braced to meet you in the corners of my eye
in lapping swells of fear frothed on lips dry.

Notes:
“The fear of anticipation is greater than its reality” is the premise of every good demonic possession or atmospheric horror movie. The build-up is what keeps us on the edge of our seats. Cos we all have things that we see from the corner of our eye, that we don’t completely understand, that we’re too afraid to face, that haunt us forever.

Thank you for reading! If you liked reading this, you may enjoy some more upcoming spook-serving poems.

--

--

Shalini C
The Junction

Poet, beauty-of-words seeker, cook, bookworm. Politically-correct chocolate muncher.