War

Enekas
The Junction
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2019
Photo by Richard Lee on Unsplash

It doesn’t matter where you are from, comparisons start the moment we meet. It is in our nature to try to find the “dominant design” and we are no exception after becoming the product, so the search continues…

It doesn’t matter where I belong to, I would never want to be the oppressed, the outcast or the minority. I would always find reasons to prove the superiority of my culture under exposure because I seek comfort and privileges granted upon birth. Anyone would be the same under enough exposure to other races and every problem that comes with it.

I am an Iranian, to some from a country that has a culture expanded across countries strong in poetry, morality and traditions that made the first steps towards human rights. To others, a third world country always on the news making threats to different countries with specific religious views. After living 10 years away from home, I can hardly relate to either culture, but I’m defined by them and I am defined by the version I choose to portray. Otherwise, I can learn and adapt to every culture or be a foreigner to any of them. They can define what I mean to them based on their imagination of what I am as an Iranian, I prefer to be the one defining my culture for them and to shape the image that would have them value me or any other Iranian they might meet, I could very well be doing this for any other country. Wouldn’t you do so?

We are all equal no matter our differences, but the race must continue. We all purposefully or not play our role in promoting our herds as we feel belonging towards them. The day we don’t is the best or the worst day for us all, a utopia or the opposite. The day we stop the race, is the day we don’t compare ourselves to each other, the day we stop our judgements, the race. Or maybe the day we lose interest in being better as humans and we lose interest in each other. It is a choice we make now…

--

--

Enekas
The Junction

Looking at reality and seeing absurdities everywhere, makes living fun I guess.