Realizing

A poem

Margarita Beatrice
The Junction
2 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Photo by Frédéric Paulussen on Unsplash

I ran across the ramparts by the roiling river,
Dashed through halls draped in the devil’s menacing darkness
I tumbled past the threshold of the highest turret
All the while searching for my wicked, heartless captor.

Against the cruel, crumbling walls, I collapsed and crumpled.
Ensnared by my hatred, drunk on my detestation
For the enemy who locked me in this labyrinth.
He trapped me and carried away the key. Where is he?

The bright light of the moon struck the cold, cold, cold tiles as
My freezing fingers retreated into my pockets
And shivered, quivered, once I clasped a weathered bronze key
The search was worthless. For my worst enemy was me.

In the boundless, timeless shadows, I had walked blindly.
So it was I who had bolted the heavy gates shut
Time after time, tormented my soul where none can find
As I had cursed myself, I had pushed the world away.

Will I be different now? Shall I have the bravery
To finally accept how mistaken I had been,
To be honest, and face my greatest adversary?
I inserted the key in the squeaking iron gate.

Through the door’s small crack, I heard sweet hummingbirds calling.
Sunlight crashed down on me as I stumbled down the steps
Dazzled by the promising spring — a new beginning.
The sparkling river remembered not the bleak, cold night.

My gaping black prison was calling to me, tempting,
Playing the sweet flute that brings forth my most dreadful fears
I glared back with defiance and chased the splendid spring.
In the garden, the sun’s dew-capped daughters were dancing.

--

--

Margarita Beatrice
The Junction

19. MNL, PH. Sometimes I read, and sometimes I write. Sometimes I ask questions, and hope to bring the answers to light. Thanks for stopping by!