Saving Anna Karenina

Part 46

Flannery Meehan
The Junction
4 min readJan 10, 2019

--

Start with Part 1, and read a short synopsis of the original book.

Just before dinner, Anna received a phone call. It was the first she’d had since entering the sanatorium. Ursula, the nurse who had taken in Seryozha, was speaking Russian, and her tone obviously carried some unwanted news.

“Seryozha ran away.”

Anna’s heart dropped into her stomach.

“When?” She whispered, lacking the courage to speak fully. The well of it was so vulnerable that bad news forced her to notice that she had, almost, no resources at all.

“Yesterday he went out before dinner and he hasn’t come home. We’ve called the police. Where would he go? Do you know where he would go?”

“I don’t know. I don’t know. Why did he run away? Did something happen?”

“My husband is a grump. I think he scared the boy.”

Now Anna realized that this was actually her worst nightmare. She had taken Seryozha for granted. But of course — she knew today and right now, as the hidden clock ticked a hidden hour in the timeless sanatorium — she had not paid attention to his needs. He was not her pet, or mascot. Somewhere, somehow, Anna had known this all along, because the truth was right there, so eager to be seen.

“I have to find him,” she said to Ursula. “I’m going to get out of this hospital and find him.”

Anna walked down the hallway to her room. I am selfish, she said to herself.

Devondrea was speaking to another patient in the rear salon and saw Anna’s wan face as she approached her room to — what, lie down and sob? Like the pathetic, helpless creature she had become?

“What’s wrong Anna?”

Anna stopped.

“My son ran away,” she said in a low voice.

“Oh no! Why he do that?”

“Because I’ve neglected him.” Life without Seryozha stretched out in her mind: a long, lonely hell. She thought she was lonely before? That was nothing. Seryozha was a perfect child. He made no demands. He was always happy. He adjusted quickly, learned quickly. He was intelligent, sensitive and loving. Anna dropped her head in her hands and began to weep.

“Anna, let me ask you something,” said Devondrea. “Do you believe Christ died for our sins?”

“No,” Anna blubbered.

“Well that’s okay, that’s okay,” said Devondrea, shaking her head as though it weren’t really. “Do you know where my name comes from?”

“No,” said Anna.

“My name comes from my father, Devon. He’s a very powerful preacher, and he thought he was going to have a son to pass that down to. When I was a child, he taught me the message, you know, Christ’s message. And he taught me to spread that message. And even when I was a little child, I was a powerful speaker, and I believed. I may not be a pastor, but I spread that message in my own way, whenever I can. That’s what I was doin’ with Kyle over there, cause he got tattoos he be wishin’ he didn’t have right now. You don’t want to mark yourself with the sign of the beast. I don’t care what club you join.” She paused to shake her head. “Your son, how old you say he is?”

“He’s ten. But in July he’ll be eleven. What month is it?”

“March. March 27, I believe.” Devondrea nodded with certainty, a stern look of concentration on her face. Unlike most of the people in the sanatorium, who, like frightened birds seeking to land, tried her patience by their continuous need to be signaled and oriented and grounded and affirmed, she had a landing spot, where she sat, preening and preaching and showing no symptoms of mental infirmity or crisis of confidence.

“You know what I think? I think there’s a reason he left. But he goin’ come back, girl. The lord has a reason for everything. This time, you lucky, cause that boy comin’ back. But somethin’ in your life gonna change because of this. I don’t know what it is, but you know what? I’ll pray for you. I’ll pray to Jesus and I’ll tell you what I find out. You better pray, too.”

Anna believed Devondrea. God — Jesus — they weren’t the point. But Devondrea knew something. She had to be right. It made too much sense what she said; Seryozha’s departure was significant.

“Do you have a candle?” she asked. “I want to light a candle.”

“No we ain’t allowed candles here. But that’s okay, the lord knows you can’t have a candle. He makes exceptions for people in places like this.”

Anna went to her room and closed the door to the bathroom. She turned off the light and stood in front of the mirror.

“Seryozha,” she said. “If you come back, I’ll cook. I’ll have a birthday party for you, with flowers, outside, by the sea. I’ll take you to school, and help you with your studies. I won’t make you pick up dinner anymore. I’ll play with you. We’ll play! I love you. I love you more than anyone in the world. Please come back darling and I’ll give you a home.”

This is part 46 of a serialized novella being published each Thursday. It is a speculative sequel to Leo Tolstoy’s novel, Anna Karenina.

Part 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45

I’m the author of Oh, the Places Where You’ll Have a Nervous Breakdown.

--

--