Self surprises

Cecilia Padilla
The Junction
Published in
Jul 12, 2021

Remember myself, imagine another

Drawing by Henn Kim @hennkim

Morph your memory
To carve yourself
Into that life ideal,
Undress each decision from the uncertainty
With which it was proclaimed.

Salute the praise
To your imagined ego.
Delude your time
in a flamboyant play.

Or else -
Allow regret
To wander through the pavement,
To glide across the air.
And let it lead the way
To unexpected bearings
Whilst shutting doors
To anachronistic selves.

If I could breathe
Before my voice betrayed me,
Or I could see
Ahead of my hands’ deceits
My love would loom
Amidst embroiled ineptitude
And every dusk
Our shining eyes eclipse.

Absorb from you
The last of Earths’ emotions
Exchange until
no more could be conceived.

© Cecilia Padilla-Iglesias, 2021

--

--

Cecilia Padilla
The Junction

Amateur poetry juggler. Necesito dos idiomas para expresarme.