Single & Searching- But Not the Way You’re Thinking

Crystal Jackson
The Junction
Published in
4 min readDec 19, 2018

--

Photo by Luis Quintero on Unsplash

I’m not sure why every conversation I have about being single is loaded with so many assumptions. There’s an assumption that I’m lonely. There’s the assumption that I should be looking for my soul mate. There’s the assumption that dating apps are the only way to date and that I want to be bombarded with dating and self-improvement advice. There’s the assumption that I need to be assured about my own qualities, my looks, and my dating prospects. It boggles the mind how many conclusions people draw based only on my relationship status.

I guess, if I’m honest, I am searching. But not in the way you might be thinking.

Here’s what I’ve discovered about being single: it feels a lot like being free. Freedom can be, admittedly, scary. We have so much time and possibility on our hands, and that sort of open-ended scenario can fill us with fear. But it can also fill us with hope. If we have imagination, it can fill us with elation. After all, when we were in relationships before, we were pretty sure that they were going to go on the way they always had. Now we don’t know what’s ahead.

We can choose to let that scare us, or we can choose to let it excite us.

But that’s not the only choice we have: we can spend our time searching for a soul mate. Or we can search for something else.

--

--