Staring Contest

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
1 min readMar 24, 2019
Photo by Edgar Pereira on Unsplash

Staring into you

I feel a sense of infinity

The rest of the world falls into the deep dark well

Of oblivion

Fan blows cool air against my brown skin

And toe wiggles remind me of my privilege

As dark thoughts threaten a late-night invasion

I look back at you

You never blink

Daring me with your peace

Everlasting stillness

And i find myself attempting to replicate this

Liquid filling my eyes

But there is no winning with you

Besides, this is no staring contest

It’s a test of will

Our impasse is merely an entrance

The door is constantly open

But the onus is on me to walk through it

Passing endless mirrors that reflect the present

Warp the past

Distract me from the future

A chance to finally blink

Only if I dare to look at the angels

The devils

Saints, sinners

Neutral participants

Who share this face with me

--

--