The Cracks in the Pavement

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
The Junction

--

Photo by Denis Agati on Unsplash

The cracks in the pavement
are where my dreams go to die
and sometimes my only wish
is that I could slip through those cracks
but not because I want to die,
along with my dreams,
but because I want to see what it’s like
to fall through the cracks
and live the rest of my life
unnoticed

The cracks in the pavement
hide all of our secrets
and when I see you crouch down
I know that you are unloading
the worst of them into the crevice
where you hide the others
A lockbox of hidden disease
just one layer down
from being uncovered

The cracks in the pavement
are what separates me from you
as you stand on your crack
and I stand on mine
Islands on asphalt
daring each other to float away
like lilypads on a pond
except we are concrete
and we will sink

--

--

Jonathan Greene
The Junction

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com