The Fall

Seena Ann Sabu
The Junction
Published in
1 min readJul 3, 2020
Image source: The Love Plummet by George Avdoulos

If you ever watch a leaf fall,
You’ll realize,
That it never rushes to hit the ground.

The fall is slow, soft
almost as if
It were drawing out a symphony
To immortalize its life
Letting the wind trace patterns on its surface
like a lovers fingertips

And then it settles on the ground ,
graceful…even in its final moments.
Before it turns from new to brittle,
Brittle to dying,
Dying to dust.
But still slow…
as though it has found its peace at last

I believed falling in love would be something similar too.
Not like the collisions and explosions they write about,
The sweating and palpitations they glorify.
But the calm heartbeat of a man breathing his last
a man satisfied with what he was,
a man fulfilled with what he will be.

Nothing broken,
Nothing shattered,
At peace.

I hoped falling for you would be the same.
As if my soul was being kissed by air
before it finally rests my body in your arms,
where I would, at last, find my solace.

But sadly
I forgot
I wasn’t a leaf.

--

--

Seena Ann Sabu
The Junction

A self proclaimed extrovert; living life one poem at a time.