The Gentle Rain Of Chestnut Husks

A Poem From The Forest…

Anna D. Invernizzi
The Junction
2 min readOct 18, 2019

--

Photo by Tom Morel on Unsplash

Take me to the forest
where my soul feels at home
and I can march off the residue
of passive-aggressive counter-posts.

I cannot see the stars in daylight
but their intent is felt,
and even if I could I would understand their meaning;
why they call me to this moment.

Where this blood and bone of mine
aligns with fir and oak
and my muse dances merrily over treetops,
into the unknown, where carelessly I follow.

Stepping off the path, wondering
to the place where no one goes
and evergreen stands amidst deciduous bedfellow;
waxy leaves pensive for changing weather.

A familiar charge bites the air,
silent but for the gentle rain of chestnut husks,
shrewd spikes, verdant, velvet-lined;

I watch them fall.

©Anna D. Invernizzi 2019, all rights reserved

This piece is an original work by Anna D. Invernizzi, for more please click the links below or visit https://writemyuniverse.co.uk or Facebook/Instagram @ writemyuniverse — thank you for reading.

If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy these:

--

--

Anna D. Invernizzi
The Junction

Multidimensional Creative | Exhibited Artist | Exploring life & all facets of the human experience www.AlchemistoftheArts.co.uk @alchemist.of.the.arts