The Sin of Mortal Myths

A lyrical story-poem

Bradley J Nordell
The Junction
Published in
5 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

I was born in the Nile,
and baptized in the blood of gods.
I was raised by a pack of wolves,
a heartless killer I’ve become.
I lived in the pyramids of Egypt,
there they praised me like a Pharaoh,
and I lived like Ra.

Well, the gods, they made me immortal,
to stand before death and laugh
Well, the gods, they feared my power;
they trembled at the sight of my lands.
Cause I’ve fled the seven plagues
and even survived the ones, I’ve made.

Lord oh! Lord, can you ever forgive a man like me?
Lord oh! Lord can ever forgive a sinner like me?
Lord Oh! Lord, shall I ever see?
Cause all I see is darkness
as my face is covered by sand
Lord, oh Lord! Can’t you see, I’m just a mortal man?

Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

--

--

Bradley J Nordell
The Junction

Author, poet, quantum physicist, photographer, explorer of the mind and imaginary worlds. New book "The Second Sky" is available now!