The Sun Meets The Sea

Sanika Tillway
Published in
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

I asked my father one day
Where does the sun meet the sea?
Does the sea get hot right after?

He laughed and said nothing
He never had many words to say
He just smiled and pulled my cheek sometimes

Many years later, I sat on a beach
In the middle of a lockdown
Wondering the same thing
At what point does the sun meet the sea?

The sea has always called out to me
Like a naughty child, teasing me from behind a pillar
It gets close, washes over my feet and runs right back

Come, my friend said
Come, take a dip with me

I put on my swimsuit and waded across the water
The warm waves licked at my feet
The seaweed hovering near my ankle
Tickled and frightened me a little

Nothing scared me more though,
Than the big fierce waves that crashed all over me
Turn your back to them, my friend said
And jump when they get close

--

--

Sanika Tillway
The Junction

Marketing Consultant. Counselling Psychologist. Human. Become a Medium member to support me & other content creators — with my referral link: bit.ly/3A52jqx