Jernee & I: Nightwalking/Photo Credit: Tremaine L. Loadholt

The Untouchable

An Audio Poem

--

You say you're thinking of me,
I know that phrase all too well.
I smile. I nod. And, I tell you
that thoughts are painless pauses
never to become action

Unless...

And we let "unless" caress us
as we sit willingly in the night air,
wind covering our chests, coughs
springing up from our souls.

Old Man Winter is hell-bent on teaching
us a lesson and I intend on passing his tests.
You say that Jernee is a distraction, that
I use her to avoid you
and I battle with your truth because
maybe you have a point.

I trust Jernee.
I do not trust you.
So, I ask for your time,
that you'll give me a few more
growth spurts before you
give up on me.

I cannot lock you down.
There is no reason to war with you.
I know the anger that you feel
and in the casual air of a star-filled night
you tell me that you must move on.

Nothing in me moves to stop you.
You never wanted to be touched.

It was written in every breath pushed
from your lungs that struggled to
leave your mouth.

©Tremaine L. Loadholt, 2019. All Rights Reserved

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
The Junction

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com