The Waystation [Part 6 of 6]

Alex S. Garcia
The Junction
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2021

Weird Fantasy / 600 words

NOTE: If you just found this, you might want to start at the beginning, or you can just read the previous episode.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’d been back at the pit for only a few minutes when I heard the familiar voice behind me.

“You’ve given us quite a run, haven’t you?”

I spun around and saw the woman grinning at me. The two tall men with the top hats were behind her, staring with their empty stares.

“Would you now tell us your name, please?”

“You should know better than to ask that by now.”

There was a pause as she conferred with whatever entity controlled her.

“Then perhaps,” she said, “we can strike a bargain. You mentioned your sister, did you not?”

“Don’t ask me her name again, I won’t tell you…”

“Not even if it’s the price to free her?”

I squinted at her. “What’s the catch?”

She smiled. “We just like to help.”

“Of course you do.”

“We’re glad you agree. As soon as you give us her name, we will fetch her.”

I crossed my arms. “And why should I trust you?”

“You’re right! But there’s a simple solution. We will sign a contract!” Her smile brightened as a stack of papers appeared in her hands. “Would you like to read the terms?”

“What is this trick?”

“No trick! We will free her in exchange for her name.”

“That makes no sense… How about that whole soul business from the contract she signed?”

“This contract would render hers null and void. It’s clearly stipulated in Article C-45:B. Here.” She extended her arms to offer me the document. “Check for yourself.”

I took it from the smiling woman and suspiciously scanned through the pages. There were hundreds of them though… I could never read it all.

“I don’t like this…”

“Which part? We can make changes or amendments, if required.”

“The whole thing,” I said in exasperation as I threw the contract to the ground. “I can’t possibly read all that and you know it! I won’t let you fool me into falling for some fine print on page 97.”

There was another moment of silence as she consulted with her superior being again.

As she did this, I looked down into the pit and tried to visualize a beam of light piercing through the darkness below… nothing. I pictured stairs going down… nothing. I willed a wall to appear between me and the woman… nothing.

“Don’t bother,” I heard the woman say distractedly, “you cannot alter our world while in our presence.”

Great. So I turned and started to walk away. Maybe if I put enough distance between us… The three appeared in front of me, blocking my way. The woman, of course, was smiling.

“We’ll make you an offer you can’t refuse.”

***

She was right.

I know you’ll disagree, Angela, but she was right.

I came here to save you.

If the only way to do that is for me to stay, then it is a small price to pay.

To seal the pact, I will tell them my name. But not before they have safely returned you to the world.

They have agreed to let me see you first, so we can say goodbye.

That is when I will slip this notebook into your pocket.

They do not know about these writings.

Please, Angela, do not cry, do not mourn me. I have made peace with my choice. You have your whole life ahead of you.

When you find these notes, make them public. The authorities will probably have their hands tied. So… go to the people! Post this on the internet.

And maybe, just maybe, all this will not have been in vain.

Goodbye, sis.

[THE END]

Text © 2021 by Alex S. Garcia.

Image by John Ioannidis from Pixabay, edited by me.

--

--

Alex S. Garcia
The Junction

I’m a bilingual writer, translator, and lyricist from France. I post free genre stories every month @ xenin.substack.com. Author website: alexsgarcia.com.