To You, From a Stranger

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2018
“white mailing envelope beside white petaled flower” by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance

Sometimes misconceptions lead to better understanding

And sometimes that’s a good thing

But I found out first hand that linearity is bull

Although denial came thick and fast

There’s plain old sadness, regret, and loneliness

Sparked by the urge to talk to you

Or to respond to your words in a manner befitting their gravity

‘“I’m not as oblivious as I look”

And what I write down for the most part is barely a partial truth

So bear with me as I try to be truthful to you

Myself

I don’t know if you’re ever going to read this

It took me months to read your words

They stung

Depression, then bargaining alongside anger in quick succession

The latter still simmers below the surface

But it’s being slowly washed off

Only clarity remains

Or as close to it as I can get to it

At first I didn’t understand

The truth burns

Rose tints are easier to leave on

But I’ve taken them off

And I see a bit of myself the way you did.

Those words on the rock were meant

Even if they withered under the harsh glow of reality

I’m not inviting your pity

Or your forgiveness

We all show different versions to different people

And this was the same with us

I don’t claim to know you

And those little portraits I painted

Do not provide a key to my mind

We both know my tangential nature

In fact, your words may have been more honest than I’ve ever been.

This isn’t a tell-all, but I would like to confess

(As you may still doubt this)

But I did see you

--

--