Trapped

Swathy Tantry
The Junction
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2017

Ted and Caleb’s argument reached the temperature of 40 degree Celsius. Caleb said, adjusting his tie knot, “the laws are made by us and hence applicable to us alone, Ted.”

Ted knew Caleb was right, he was always right. Damn him! But he was far too riled up to back down now. Ted raised his three finger salute slowly to achieve a dramatic effect and said “the law is what keeps order amongst the living.” Stepping on a stone, he upped the drama “I Ted Michaels, will bring justice to all of us.” The kids who had gathered around them scurried away before he repeated the scout promise as he raised the salute in slow motion once again.

Staying up all night, Ted managed to whip up a trap with the twigs he’s found in the forest and some rope he borrowed from their camp. I’ll show the rogue rabbit a thing or two when I catch him in my trap. Stealing our puddings, our hard earned sweet sweet puddings. He must pay for his sins. Mr Strong always says, lead by example and that’s exactly what I’m doing. I’ll show Caleb who’s the true scout around here. Years from now cub scouts all over the word will know of my legend. Ted placed 11 puddings on the trap, lucky eleven and waited in the tree house with his binoculars pointed at the spot.

Morning woke him up to reveal the culprit in the trap. “My trap worked?” he wondered out loud as he saw the stone weight resting snug on the ground. Ted rushed out of the tree house, his hands searching his pockets for his victory speech which he’d prepared for the rogue rabbit.

As he stared at his catch, the only words that came out of him mouth were, “Ca… Ca… Caleb! Help Help,” his legs ran him to the camp, pale horror painted on his face. Mr. Strong will kill me and worse take all of my badges!

“Tiger… tiger” Ted screamed. “I trapped a tiger cub instead!”

--

--