Photo by Pavel Danilyuk from Pexels

Unborn Child

Lupin, like the chair
The Junction
Published in
1 min readJan 7, 2022

--

A smile, a truthful one,
Where fear, anticipation, and reason collide,
The shell I reside in, no longer a lodge,
Yet, I cannot decide if this mirage can rattle my hive…

Heartbeat…
A rate averaging at 120 bpm,
My mind wandered,
Meandering through several wonders,
You, the peak of my limit.

And As your mother’s gaze spears,
And makes way for what seems as years,
I step back from what will come,
Gasping at the prospect of
Your first step? No
Your first word? No
My mind picked specific moments
Where your life is my being.

Will you make the same mistakes I did?
Or will I be there to guide you,
Will you inherit my kingdom of dirt?
Or will you see to it that it transcends the soot, smug, and soil,
The agony of millennia.

Nothing is indicative of anything,
Until that bug of a thought starts chewing away all the good,
And we grow apart.

Oh unborn child,
Heed my word,
They will kill us for their sport…

And on my death bed,
In my last moments as my soul sheds its earthly shell,
Your first step,
Your first word,
My mind selectively picked the mundane,
The simplest of pleasures.

--

--

Lupin, like the chair
The Junction

I write about what matters and nothing of any significance