What I Did Today Instead of Writing (1)

Dan Belmont
The Junction
Published in
1 min readJul 30, 2017
Source: Pixabay

Played a couple of online chess games against an Argentinian without a profile picture. He fell for the same trap three times. I thought of making fun of him in the server chat, but then realised I was sitting at a café playing chess against an Argentinian without a profile picture instead of working on my manuscript. Well played, my faceless nemesis. You’re not the biggest loser, after all.

Followed up with another short match against a hijab-wearing British girl named Cindy. She looks half my age and is one of the strongest attacking players I faced in a while. I ended up being checkmated in all four games. Found myself secretly wishing she was a writer, just like me, sitting at a café playing chess with strangers instead of focusing on her work. Shape up, Cindy. You're not getting anywhere with that kind of attitude.

Decided to publicly shame myself by starting this diary. Not sure if it counts as writing.

--

--

Dan Belmont
The Junction

Writer. Software developer. Zen Buddhism practitioner. Email: danbelmontwriter@gmail.com Instagram: @fountainpenpoet