What I Did Today Instead of Writing (3)

Dan Belmont
The Junction
Published in
1 min readAug 9, 2017
Pixabay

Wrote a post rambling about how much time I waste looking at stats on Medium. Proceeded to waste more time looking at the stats for that post. They were awful, as you can imagine.

Thought of writing another post rambling about how much time I wasted looking at the stats for the post in which I rambled about the stats. Imagined how terrible the stats for that post would be.

Noticed I was stuck in a loop.

Thought of writing a post about the loop.

Realised I was losing my mind.

Turned off my phone and computer. No sleep mode, no standby, no lock screen: I did that thing where you press the power button and hold until it all goes dead. It felt strangely satisfying, like smothering a tiny devil.

Put some water in the kettle, grabbed a print book and gave myself a break.

12

--

--

Dan Belmont
The Junction

Writer. Software developer. Zen Buddhism practitioner. Email: danbelmontwriter@gmail.com Instagram: @fountainpenpoet