Why Malta?

Marta Mozolewska
The Junction
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2019
Photo by Author

Recently my family visited Malta. Here’s a little memoir.

We’ve been in Malta for 3 days having a wonderful time. Unfortunately, at our hotel there’s TV and access to the Internet, which is never a plus as the point of holidays is to escape from both, especially to cut your children off from both! But it doesn’t really bother us parents that much as we hardly spend any time at the hotel building. Lazily we traverse charming historic towns, wandering across natural sites we relish the local flora and fauna. Once we get to the hotel, we just sleep or relax at the swimming pool or sauna. A true heaven on earth!

We’re just standing on the cliff of Paradise Bay, me and my son (my husband and daughter hurried ahead of us), arm in arm, soaking in the stunning view spreading before our eyes — rocks, dry grass, the sea, the silver rays of sunlight shimmering on the water surface. Amazingly beautiful! Timmy (7 years old) says, “Oh mum, I would so much wish to move to Malta!”

His declaration takes me aback a bit. We’ve been to Italy, France, Croatia, Albania and it’s Malta that’s stolen my little boy’s heart! Awwwww, so lovely! I feel something grabbing me by the throat — it’s pure joy combined with pride. As a mother, I’ve lived up to expectations. I could die right at this moment as I would never be able to feel happier or more fulfilled. I’ve flung the door wide open for my son to learn and appreciate the incredible beauty of the world. I’ve managed to free his mind and soul. Now he knows he can reach far beyond his native town, his country, or even planet! Yes! Now he’s ready to reach the stars and conquer the whole universe! And all that is because of my own doing. His PERFECT mother. That’s me! Hello me, the fantastic mum!

I turn to my son to ask him this rhetorical question, just to keep the conversation going, “Oh, why Malta, sweetie?”

Timmy sighs dreamily, “Because on TV they play cartoons without ANY COMMERCIAL BREAKS!!!”

--

--