windfall. in bed

Ernio Hernandez
The Junction
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2018

--

original photo by Becca Tapert

I remember those first sleep overs

Her apartment was small, but the bedroom, or just the bed rather, seemed to go on forever

I fell in love with laying with her, our bodies keeping us warmer than the covers

and when the night came and time to rest

We huddled together, our limbs intertwined

Her head on my chest

made me feel stronger than my frame would suggest

my arms around her

holding

a lifetime to come

being

in just this moment

She would drift into the deep

signaling her sendoff with a pulse that ran through her

body jolting its one last grasp as she let go of the day

There in the stillness I would stay

indulging in the contrails of her hair

the romance of her neck

our rise and fall with each breath

I would whisper

practicing the words too soon to say

“I love you, Kate”

Then wait,

curling into our embrace,

--

--