Choose to Walk

Jamie Lahiere
The Kalypsonian
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2016

I spent the last month working for a client in Europe. The work was intense, the hours were long, and the client was demanding. Yet somehow, I was not stressed.

This got me thinking about stress management (something I frequently struggle with) and why this was not a battle I fought in Europe despite working in stress prone situations.

“What is a major lifestyle difference between Americans and Europeans?” I thought.

Walkability.

The act of walking is part of getting around in day to day life. It is ingrained in the European lifestyle and the way cities are built — whether that be walking to your destination or walking to the public transportation stop.

Unintentionally, and unknowingly, I was moderating my stress levels by choosing to get around by foot. I didn’t have to make time to go to the gym for an hour because exercise was engrained in my daily activities.

The results were impressive. I maintained a positive attitude, my immune system felt stronger, my energy levels were constant, and my clothes fit better.

As Americans, we can get so caught up in getting everything done as quickly as possible and overbooking our schedules that we end up feeling constantly constrained by time. So we choose to drive, we order drive-through fast food, and we seek out the closest parking spot. We may not be able to change the walkability of our cities, but we can choose to make walking more integrated into our lifestyles.

Here is my challenge to you: Choose to walk.

  • Park in the furthest spot away from the building entrance
  • Walk to your destination if it’s less than 1 mile away
  • Go for a walk when you take conference calls
  • Make a daily step count goal for yourself using a fitbit or apple health app

Your mind and body will thank you. Trust me.

--

--

Jamie Lahiere
The Kalypsonian

Kalypsonian, Texan, Travel Junkie. Interested in innovation strategy and organizational change management. Learn more at http://kalypso.com/people/jamie.lahiere