Amazon KDP vs. Barnes & Noble Press vs. Google Play Books

For self-publishing in 2024.

Kristen Walters
Kristen’s KDP Project

--

Image credit: DALL-E 3

When I started my data-driven publishing project, I decided to spread my efforts across multiple platforms to minimize risk.

I’m currently focusing on these three:

  • Amazon KDP
  • Barnes & Noble Press
  • Google Play Books.

If something were to happen (account suspensions, hackers, etc.), I would have at least two backups, and my publishing income wouldn’t drop to zero overnight.

I could also sell one or more of these accounts in the future.

So today, I thought I’d share my thoughts about each of them, including:

  • Are they worth my time,
  • What it takes to succeed, and
  • Potential drawbacks.

Let’s start with the big kahuna…

1. Amazon KDP

The biggest upside of self-publishing on Amazon is access to millions of potential customers worldwide.

Not only can I create books for US customers, but I can also target audiences in the UK, Mexico, Canada, Germany, India, and more.

The income potential here is unlimited.

--

--