Embracing My Once-Viewed Story

A lack of readers does not equate to rejection

Pamela Hazelton
The KickStarter

--

Woman wearing a blue top holds up her forefinger to the reader.
photo by @kues1 — licensed via Freepik

Every day I wake up grateful for three things: the air I breathe, the loved ones in my life, and my ability to write. Nothing else matters much.

When the pros say not to let numbers define you as a writer, listen well. Even for journalists and authors of technical books, writing is a creative process.

We write, knowing not everyone is going to appreciate our work. We’re aware plenty who start reading aren’t going to get to the end. We do it anyway because it needs to be done; we have something to say.

I have in my arsenal of published works on Medium a story with one view. One, as in a lone person has read something specific I had to say. It’s what most would call a clunker.

I can’t tell you why no one has bitten. It’s not my weakest story. It contains the appropriate tags. I think the headline works, even though I probably over-thought it like so many other times. It’s a topic my recurring readers would expect.

Yet, there it sits, amid scores of other stories, calling itself out to me every time I check my stats.

Hi, I’m the story you spent hours writing, analyzing, and finding a featured image to represent. I’ve just been hanging out with my compatriots, waving

--

--

Pamela Hazelton
The KickStarter

Avid writer, marketer & business consultant. // Reward yourself a little every day. 🆆🅾🆁🅺 + 🅻🅸🅵🅴 🅱🅰🅻🅰🅽🅲🅴