Harvard to Minimum Wage: How I Found Out I Had ADD

Aron Croft
The KickStarter
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2020

After getting into Harvard, my life took a 15-year nosedive of epic fails.

Not many people know this, but after getting into Harvard, my life took a 15-year nosedive of epic fails.

I was on the “6 year plan” to graduate, twice dropping out for a year. After that, I bombed in my first 6 jobs and businesses. And then I failed out of my first marriage.

At 32 years old, I was broke, divorced, and earning just above minimum wage.

But the last 7 years have been different.

Completely different.

In that time, I’ve built up a successful Fortune 500 career, gotten married to an amazing woman, and regained my confidence and power.

What changed?

Obviously, a lot.

But I’ve kept one of the most critical factors in my turnaround a secret.

Until now.

Here is my secret:

My turnaround would not have happened without treatment for previously-undiagnosed ADD.

Why share now?

I kept this diagnosis secret because there are high downsides — and few upsides — to disclosing it in Corporate America.

But recently, some people told me that others would benefit from hearing about my experience. That they would appreciate knowing the strategies I used to recover from 15 years of failure and to succeed as a Fortune 500 senior manager with ADD.

So I am starting to share. It will mostly be on my new YouTube channel, Hidden ADD. But in the spirit of sharing my story more broadly, I also wanted to disclose it here.

If you’re curious

The first question many people ask is, “How can someone with ADD get into Harvard?” I explain it in that video.

What’s your story…?

Were you diagnosed later in life like me? Have you found any coping strategies that work well in the corporate world?

--

--

Aron Croft
The KickStarter

Harvard Grad. Master’s in Psychology. Screwed up jobs & marriage in 20s with undiagnosed ADHD. Sharing how I rebuilt my life and career. On YT and HiddenADD.com