How Do Clothes Relay Information About Our Anxieties?

If clothes constitute a uniform, what idea are we signaling to others?

Lisa Bradburn
The KickStarter
Published in
5 min readMar 30, 2021

--

Punk rock girl | Image By mazeroom, Shutterstock

Our clothes are a uniform we wear, signaling our personality to the world. Clothes spark the idea of who we think we are and what group we see ourselves as belonging to. But our way of dressing might also carry important information about particular anxieties. What are we trying to protect ourselves from through our clothes? Here, I provide three unique examples demonstrating how our clothing choices relay much more profound information about our personhood. We examine the black turtle neck, the armor of an adult sexually abused victim, and look at the clothing choices of the fictional character Phoebe Buffay from the American sitcom Friends.

The Successful Black Turtleneck

Steve Jobs was known for his groundbreaking innovative design at Apple, and he was also a style icon. Like Jobs, I’m obsessed with black turtle necks and own at least eight variations. As soon as we entered into the fall season, I immediately forwarned my virtual team that they will see me in a daily back turtle neck — but have no fear, I own several and do shower and change. Even though I was cracking a half-fast joke, black turtle necks have long been a staple in my closet.

--

--

Lisa Bradburn
The KickStarter

Psychotherapist (RPQ) & Coach at the intersection of faith, technology, and the human condition. Let’s chat: lbradburn@gestaltmail.ca