“Love Today”, watch it today if you haven’t!

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The King is nude
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2023

Another of those lovely films I missed when it was released.

Still from the Thamizh film, Love Today

Three films of late that I missed, of which the most recent of them was this film that I had no inclination to watch and what a pleasant surprise it turned out to be yesterday. One scene in particular had me in splits (the scene where the brat of a child spanks Pradeep’s head as he is having a conversation with his lover, being on the receiving end), I replayed it countless times. My stomach hurt from laughing.

Like Sivakarthikeyan’s films I didn’t have a fascination for this movie although the clips did catch my attention. The multi-talented actor, director, story writer (really a wow here for that one scene that almost got my guts out), Pradeep Ranganathan has a winner in this film. The film has your attention gripped with ample doses of comedy, engaging dialogues and good acting from Pradeep and Ivana (the lead actors).

Mallu actress Ivana (Aleena Shaji) does a fantastic job and in particular her emotional scenes are really touching. The girl is almost shaking in these scenes and it does tug at your heart.

Radhika Sarathkumar as usual was at her witty best and Sathyaraj plays his part well too. Yogi Babu and Raveena Ravi have memorable roles and play their parts very well too. The little brat of a kid, Pultheesh played by Master Arav was delightful. Good support from other cast too.

And a welcome back to Yuvan Shankar Raja, who pleases us with lovely music and songs (one sung by Sid Sriram) thought they aren’t played in their entirety.

The movie also highlights the pitfalls of using smartphones and even being addicted to them. Body shaming and vulnerability of privacy on social media are other things the movie addresses pretty well.

A fantastic film of love and lovers today. Go for it, if you haven’t watched it. Highly recommended. I may watch it a second time if I had the time.

--

--

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The King is nude

Software Programmer turned Technical Writer, Writer, Blogger, Trainer, spiritual seeker tyring to better my life and the lives of others via my writings.